Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

National Board Certified Teachers

Return to
Curriculum and Instruction


Madison County Schools is proud to be the home of 37 teachers who have earned National Board Certification. The National Board Certification is recognized across the United States as the highest standard for teaching excellence. There are more than 110,000 National Board Certified Teachers in all 50 states. In Kentucky, there are more than 3,200 National Board Certified Teachers, which is 7.8 percent of all teachers in the state. Last year, 88 Kentucky teachers were added to that list including two in Madison County - Tonya Conley of Kingston Elementary and Lauren Cain of White Hall Elementary.


Earning National Board Certification is no walk in the park. Teachers embark on a process of learning and growing professional that takes about 3 years to complete.


MCS National Board Certified Teachers include:

Carrie Ballinger, Kingston Elementary

Margaret (Peggy) Blankenship, White Hall Elementary

Vivian Bowles, Kit Carson Elementary

Jerrell (Jerri) Grubbs, Foley Middle

Alison Fox, Madison Central High

Allison Danielle Hensley, Kirksville Elementary

Ashlie Griggs, B. Michael Caudill Middle

Kimberly Hill, Madison Central High

Carla Horn, Kit Carson Elementary

Alexis Kays, Madison Central High

Rebecca Marcum, Madison Southern High

Laurel Nolan, Kirksville Elementary

Rhonda Orttenburger, Kit Carson Elementary

Kelly Philbeck, on working agreement with KDE

Debra Reed, on working agreement with KDE

Christa Rose, Madison Central High

Angela Hatterick, Waco Elementary

Tina Stegemoller, Kingston Elementary

Melanie Gray, Madison Central High

Elizabeth Ward, Districtwide - Special Education Department

Lorena Webb, Waco Elementary

Anne Devere, Shannon Johnson Elementary

Sonya Richardson, Daniel Boone Elementary

Lauren Cain, White Hall Elementary

Contessa Harris, Glenn Marshall Elementary

Billy Smith, Kirksville Elementary

Jarred Winebarger, White Hall Elementary

Jessica Tipton, Madison Central High

Bethany Briscoe, Madison Central High

Kelly Goff, B. Michael Caudill Middle

Adam Reid, Madison Central High

Tiffany McAvoy, White Hall Elementary

Tonya Conley, Kingston Elementary

Mary Brumley, Madison Central High

J. Douglas Martin, Madison Southern High

Kelly Winebarger, Waco Elementary

Kimberly Riggs, Madison Central High