Under Kentucky state law, all children must be enrolled in school between the ages of 6 and 16. Children can enter primary school at age 5, but only if their 5th birthday is on or before August 1 of the current school year.
Preschool programs may be available:
Preschool programs are available to 4-year-old children who are "at risk," meaning they are eligible for the federal School Lunch Program. Preschool also is available for 3 and 4-year-old children with disabilities. Enrollment of a child in the preschool program is at the discretion of the parent or legal guardian. For more information about the preschool offerings in your district, or to see if your child is eligible, it is best to contact your local school district directly.
Documentation required for registration:
Prior to school attendance, each child shall have on file:
1. a legal birth certificate or other reliable proof of age and identification*
2. a Kentucky certificate of immunization
3. proof of a preventative health care examination conducted within one year prior to initial entry into the school program and another preventative health care examination within one year prior to entry into the 6th grade
4. proof of an eye examination by an optometrist or ophthalmologist, documented on the Kentucky School Eye Exam Form
5. proof of a dental screening or examination by a dentist, dental hygienist, physician, registered nurse, advanced registered nurse practitioner or physician assistant, documented on the Kentucky Dental Screening Form (This form must be presented to the school no later than January 1 of the first year that a 5- or 6-year-old child is enrolled.)
*Examples of other reliable proof of a student's identity and age may include but are not limited to:
- Social Security card
- Baptismal certificate - copy of the record of baptism (notarized or duly certified which reflects the date of the student's birth)